• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hi all, need some help for my first aquarium

Eclipse

Seedling
Hi guys, I just got an aquarium and wanted to ask you if you could help me with it. It's the first one I've ever had and already kind of furnished. I really don't know much about cleaning, aquascaping, avoiding algae, etc. It's an old one from my brother sothe water is fine but there are already two Corydoras aeneus in it. I cleaned the whole aquariuum and bought 4 plants which are already planted. Want I wanted to ask you is if you could give me some recommendations for some other plants, fish or some interior fitting or some general advice for a beginner like me (picture follows, it's a 60x30x30). I'd be happy if you could help me and yeah... thanks :)
IMG_20190104_135114.jpg
IMG_20190104_135114.jpg

I'm a beginner myself. But I would be inclined to take the 3 pieces of what looks like Limestone out of the tank and replace it with something inert that won't affect the PH of the water, like the slate or pebbles you have already. Then it depends whether you want high or low tech in terms of lighting, substrate and C02 injection. There are a lot better informed people on here than me and I suspect some will chip in later.

Stu

Welcome.
THere are a lot of articles on the forum worth reading
If this is your first tank I would start reading the low tech artticles first (https://www.ukaps.org/forum/forums/el-natural-low-tech.27/)
Plants need 2 things: food, light . It's very easy to give to much light, it's virtually impossible to give to much food.
For new tanks we generally advise to do two large waterchanges/ week ( 50% of the tankwater each time) and start with a large plantmass. This will help stabilizing things. Look for cheap plants, even pond plants will do in the beginning. Feed the plants after each waterchange.