• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Glueing driftwood to each other?

Jeffrey

Seedling
He guys,

I bought myself several pieces of driftwood, I'm planning on hardscaping them in my 60L nano cube.
So it's gone more upwards than sideways, to be sure the driftwood stays at it's place I want to glue the pieces together. Note that the driftwood doesn't 100% fit each other.

What type of glue do you guys recommend? Or a different way of putting the pieces together?
Thank you in advance!

Hey Jeffery, I'm not experienced on gluing wood together, but maybe if you plan to cover the wood with plants you could zip tie them off, or stainless steel screws only problem with screwing you risk splitting the wood and it's not as easy to just cut a tie off and re scape! Aquarium safe silicone is another option, once silicone goes off it can be incredibly strong

Hope any of this helps you !

I have used the melting glue guns to repair things in the tank that I have broke. I suspect it's safe once cured as there's no spurious chemicals involved just melted plastic that solidify's again. They're only about a £5 in wilkos or B&M

I found some additional info on the interwebs: people seem to use stainless steel pins (dowels) to connect the pieces together.
I'll have to check out if my pieces of wood are suitable for this since there pretty thin....

Thanks for the info and I'll keep you updated :)

Thin black cable ties as well at a push. Once grown over they are hardly visible.

Hi all,
Note that the driftwood doesn't 100% fit each other.

What type of glue do you guys recommend? Or a different way of putting the pieces together?
Thank you in advance!
<"Wooden dowel">. Once it is wet it will expand and lock the pieces together.

If the wood is really thin I'd go for cable-ties as well.

cheers Darrel

X 2 on wooden dowels.