• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Fluctuating CO2

MrMacey

Seedling
Hello everyone, this may seem a bit stupid as I have little knowledge on the matter but how does the fluctuation of CO2 (like when using the yeast method) affect the growth of algae? I have read that even though we aim for around 30ppm, plants use no where near all of this. So say if I was using yeast to produce to CO2 which started off at around 30ppm then gradually decreased to say 20ppm over the course of a week or two, would this still be sufficient for the plants providing that the nutrients and flow was up to scratch? I understand that the algae will be able to respond quicker to the change, however there will still be plenty of CO2 available for the plants to work at there max meaning there surely should be no difference?

Hi
Not sure why you think plants don't use 30ppm. The plants we buy are mostly grown emersed, in atmospheric CO2 which is pushing 400ppm, we put them under water and they struggle to adapt for a while, in 1-3ppm with no CO2 supplement . 30ppm is as much as we can use without harming fish, it is a compromise, not abundance!
Does fluctuating CO2 cause algae? Lots of threads on here about it, some don't think it does.
But my experience is that BBA is caused by fluctuating ( ie going from high to low) CO2.
I have 6 tanks, various algae at various time, but BBA in only 2, and these are the only 2 that I have used CO2 in.
One was. 50l with DIY , BBA started from almost day 1. Stopped the co2 months ago but BBA still going strong.
The other is my 350l tank. I tried DIY in this, had no effect, no BBA probably because I never managed to get levels very high. But when I changed to compressed co2 it was fine until the reactor jammed, effectively stopped injecting for a couple of days and BBA was triggered.