• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Flintstones

J@mes

Ok, I admit, I don’t have an aquarium. Yet.

The plan is a 60cm planted tank. It’s still early stages and there’s plenty to consider. As mentioned in my 1st thread I’m a total beginner.

I’ve accumulated a couple of bags of different size of grain tropica soil, some water treatment called easy-life easy start, the aquascaper fertiliser, Oase biomaster filter with heater & a Twinstar 600s.

At the moment I’m figuring out what is required to treat the water & how to do water changes, being in a ground floor flat and not having a lot of storage presents some challenges. I’ve read about dechlorinating tap water using products and about leaving the water to dechlorinate by itself, which sounds ideal. I was wondering if anyone uses a water butt & rain water, got to be an option?

My first idea (which I’ve sidelined) was to use local dirt/ silt, hardscape and flora & fauna. I’ve built a good collection of medium size flint stones and suchlike. I live a stones throw from a small tributary to the Thames called The Wey. It’s a good source of inspiration and potentially materials. I am also fond of the Basingstoke Canal, having worked a few seasons PT as a lock keeper, there’s a lovely chalk stream tributary in Odiham near the castle.

All that sounds great but for a total novice I figured I’d play safe and make my 1st time simpler & do it by numbers. Next purchase will be the tank & stand, either an ADA 60p which is probably put on a kitchen wall unit at floor level or the evolution aqua 600 aquascaper & their stand.

Hi all,
I was wondering if anyone uses a water butt & rain water, got to be an option?
I do, and have done since the 1970's without any problem. Have a look at <"If its yellow...">.