• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape First hardscape attempt

AquaSam

Seedling
Complete aquascaping novice here, and this is my first attempt at hardscaping my 180L Rio.

Eventually going to plant a Monte Carlo carpet in the foreground, staurogyne repens and dwarf hair grass in the mid ground, and hoping for a thick Rotalla green and Rotalla Wallichi background.
The bare tank floor you can see will be filled with sand.

Criticism and suggestions welcome!
(Sorry for the smartphone photos, one expensive hobby at a time...)

IMG_6445.JPG

IMG_6446.JPG
IMG_6447.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_6445.JPG
    IMG_6445.JPG
    161.8 KB · Views: 114
  • IMG_6446.JPG
    IMG_6446.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 103
  • IMG_6447.JPG
    IMG_6447.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 102
IMG_6448.JPG
After sitting down with a cup of tea staring at the tank, I felt the main rock on the left didn't have enough 'presence'.

So I've propped it up to try and give it a bit more height and footprint

Hi, I'm not in a position to comment on the hardscape unfortunately as not done many myself but I do like the river bed up the middle. Good luck with the project!

I think you need to buy a bigger stone to make a Nice impact. The main stone needs more height and width. Main stone Should at least be 2/3 of the height of your aquarium.

Don't make the path so straight make a nice twist in it on the end.

Overall the Stones are not dominant enough IMO.

Keep on scaping

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Aqua Sam

This is my first post here on UKAPS but it is far from my first post on Aquascaping. Several members here know me very well.
My Critiques will always be honest and hard but I would rather call it "Constructive Criticism"
Its very easy to see you are a beginner just by your selection and placing of the stones and the bare pathway.