• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

First co2 system fish safety tips

Jakwondo

Seedling
Hi everyone I'm new to this site although I've visited many time this is my first post. I've been running tropical tanks for over ten years I've nearly always had live plants I've always wanted to use co2 but I'm scared of killing my fish( my tank is a rio 300 with with tetras and catfish all south american they are all fish that can handle low ph but is well stocked I have internal filter with venturi and airpumps if needed for nighttime) as I'm a novice I was planing to set up a small hitec 45_60cm tank to practice on but yesterday I saw a un-used D&D system on ebay I won it for 10.50 with 6 pound postage. It's not the system I would of chosen as it uses welding type canisters but it was cheep and looks of decent quality and has a solenoid how risky is it for novice to use, as could use it on my rio ( plus wouldn't a Jbl adapt u-m fit allow me to use fire extinguisher) I would have to invest in a drop checker and bubble counter and would probley use a different defuser or would I be safer to try it on smaller tank which I'm going to set up as well (d&d is ideal for the small tank anyway). And then look in to getting a Co2 art system or similar for my Rio300 when I'm more confident with it. It's just I'm tempted to try it out to see if make a difference with hair algae problems in my rio.

The risk is low just as long as you do your research and follow the advice on this forum. Check the tutorial section. The key to CO2 is to start out slowly, just start out at 1 BPS and work your way up and you'll be fine. My only other piece of advice would be beware of the 'end of tank dump', research this and find out if it will happen with your setup.