• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Filter Starter

I’ve never used this before but the Sera 130+UV I bought recently came with a bottle of it. Bearing in mind that I won’t be able to add any fish to the tank for some time is it worth using it when I fill the tank and power up the filter? What I will be doing sooner rather than later is transferring the majority of my black shrimps over to the new tank.

For the more experienced among you how long should I leave it for the transfer if I Do/Don’t use the starter? TIA.

Do/Don’t use the starter?

Its a "if it does not benefit, it will not harm" concept...

In general, it is not needed to boost bacterial development in the filter or substrate. They will come and develop on their own devices, the needed bacteria are omnipresent. The bacteria also live in large numbers in symbiosis with plants in and on the roots, thus adding plants already seeds the substrate sufficiently with bacteria. It usually takes several weeks to grow into a healthy population. In general consensus, about 6 weeks will be sufficient.

How long it takes before it is safe to add life stock to your aquarium depends on several factors. The biggest concerns in this are Nitrite and Ammonia buildup and release into the water column. Both are severely toxic to water life and should be avoided or if present waited out till its no longer present. It depends on the substrate used, some substrates are pre fertilized or contain organics that initially will leach Ammonia into the water column. Then regular water changes and regular testing is required to determine when the substrate stabilises and is done leaching nasties.

Then it's water change, test, water change, test and so on for a number of weeks till you are clear from Ammonia and nitrite in the water column. This can take longer than 6 weeks.