Electrical wiring advice

Discussion in 'Off Topic / Chit-Chat' started by dean, 6 Nov 2019.

  1. dean

    dean Member

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Warrington, Cheshire
    Hi all
    So I’ve been setting up the discus system for a friend
    Yes the usual bare bottom boring tanks
    All 28 of them total of 2384 litres
    Each tank is going to have a 300 watt heater in it
    I know in uk I can wire 10 of these together onto a 13amp plug (max 3 kw) using 1.5 mm2 cable

    My question is how to make it neat, tidy, safe and be able to replace one heater easily if required
    But the worst bit is this
    Cheap as possible he’s at the end of his budget and if he goes over it he won’t need to pay for a sex change his wife will do it for free

    There are 3 tiers to the system
    10 tanks on top and middle and 8 wider ones for growing out on the bottom

    So I’m thinking of putting each row on it’s own 13amp plug and using chocolate blocks every so often but can’t think of how to make it splash proof but easily accessible

    So over to you clever folk for your ideas


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    [​IMG]
    They are all 3ft long and are end on using industrial racking
    So from the front you are looking through what should be a side panel


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 7 Nov 2019
    Costa likes this.
  2. webworm

    webworm Member

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Personally I'd be looking at 2.5mm2 cable. Whilst in theory 10x300w is within the limit of a single 13A plug it's a bit close, blowing the fuse on a 13A plug will take 10 tanks heating off line.
    The other thing that you have to consider is what you're plugging the 13A plugs into ? If it's three sockets all on the ring main, you've got the potential to overload the circuit (UK Ring mains are rated at up to 30A), at this point risking taking power down to the whole installation.

    I'd be looking at using some sort of IEC power strip, as you've already identified choc bloc isn't suitable for damp environments.
     
    dw1305 likes this.
  3. ian_m

    ian_m Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    5,065
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    No you don't have a heater in each tank, that would be completely silly, cost a lot and be extremely difficult to wire up safely. As you are probably not having a filter per tank (I assume) and will probably have a "monster" filtration system somewhere (especially with discus :rolleyes:) you just need one big heater for the whole system.

    Something like this, a single 3KW flow heater.
    https://www.divapor.com/spares/bath...whirlpool-bath-flow-type-heater-230v-50hz.php

    Possibly there are aquarium suitable ones.

    Try going round local fish shops and see how they heat their water, they will usually have one or two 3KW in line heaters heating the water to all their tanks. Advantages of two in parallel is increased reliability. Remember to include enough valves and pipe work so heater can easily be isolated and removed for cleaning/maintenance. Job done.
     
    Zeus., Tim Harrison, Oldguy and 2 others like this.
  4. Edvet

    Edvet Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    5,142
    Location:
    Lelystad, Netherlands
    Or heat the room sufficiently.
     
  5. Oldguy

    Oldguy Member

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    Gloucestershire, UK
    Once long ago there was a LFS which used this method. My specs would always steam up when I went in. Several hundred tanks on steel racking. Alas no more. He temperature graded, coolest near the floor (hands & knees to look into these tanks, with wet knees from the squelchy carpet) and warmest at the top (short step ladder to look at these). Very healthy and varied stock.

    You went there to buy fish, not to have a 'shopping experience'. Those were the days.
     
  6. ian_m

    ian_m Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    5,065
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Also if you heat the room, rather than the tanks you can obviously heat using the 1/4 the cost gas fired central heating system, if you have one.
     
    Zeus. and Oldguy like this.
  7. Costa

    Costa Member

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    You certainly don't need 300W heater in an 85L tank!
     
  8. dean

    dean Member

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2012
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Warrington, Cheshire
    As it’s in a sectioned part of a warehouse that is within the office block there is central heating but it’s obviously not on after usual business hours Hence they chose to use 300w heaters
    Yes could of used 100w but then they would potentially be on a lot longer and that can cause problems

    Electrician installed wall sockets to cope with the requirements

    We went with just extending the heaters cables and plugging them into 5 way extension leads


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice