• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

EI dosing and mixing strengths?

Gary Nelson

I'm new to EI dosing but looking at the below recipe and looking at dosing my 200 litre tank, is it possible to make the mixture stronger by doubling the contents and just dose half the amount?
On the mixture below I'd be dosing 40ml - if I double the mix into the 500ml of water and then dose 20ml, or could i mix it even more concentrated than that? Would this work?

Advice greatly appreciated :thumbup:

Macro Solution
4tsp Potassium Nitrate
1tsp Potassium Phosphate
6tsp Magnesium Sulphate
500ml Water

Micro Solution
1tsp Chelated Trace Elements
500ml Water

Dosing
Macro 3x a week. (10ml per 50ltr of Aquarium water)
Micro 3x a week. (10ml per 50ltr of Aquarium water)

Tis exactly what I do and it all dissolves no problem :thumbup:
That's double the concentration, not sure about any more.

Gary Nelson said:
To the rescue again Ady :thumbup: so do you mix yours in just boiled water?
Yeah cooled boiled water but i remember reading a post by Clive suggesting even this isn't necessary and just mix it in tap water.

Ady34 said:
Gary Nelson said:
To the rescue again Ady :thumbup: so do you mix yours in just boiled water?
Yeah cooled boiled water but i remember reading a post by Clive suggesting even this isn't necessary and just mix it in tap water.

Ok cool, maybe he will be along in a bit to confirm this then. So does the recipe I've got look about what you are working to then?

Exactly, I think, it's the one from APFUK is it?

There are limits on how much of a salt will dissolve in water, but I cant remember the exacts.

johnski said:
There are limits on how much of a salt will dissolve in water, but I cant remember the exacts.

Yes I did think that myself or of perhaps mixing in slightly warmer water might help dissolve the salts much better?