• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Eheim 2224 or Ecco Pro 300?

tomsteer

Hi,

I'm looking to upgrade to an external on my 65L tank.

I've used Fluval externals (304+305) previously, mainly due to cost (I was a student when I bought them) but now I'm able to afford the likes of Eheim I would like to spend the extra and avoid future disappointments. (Both of my fluvals started to leak after 2 years of use)

Due to the size of the cabinet I cant go any bigger than 22cm deep, as such I see only two options for my tank in the available Eheim range -

Eheim 2224 Professional -
- For Tank litre/gal: 250/55
- Pump Output: 700 l/h
- Delivery Head: 1.5mWs
- Filter Volume: 3.0 L
- Power Consumption: 8 w
- Dimensions: 340x178x178

Eheim Ecco Pro 300
- for aquariua from 160 up to 300 litres
- Power consumption: 230 V/ 50 Hz 8 W
- Pump output: 750 l/h
- Pump head: 1,9 m
- Filter volume 2.8 l + 0.3 l (prefilter)
- Canister volume: 5.0 l
- Dimesnions: 205 x 416 mm ( diameter x height)

Both are practically the same price ~£90, have similar outputs, same power consumption etc (Its a bit like top trumps :D )

As I see it, the advantage of the Ecco is the self priming feature - Not sure how good this is but I've spent so much time arsing about with the little fluval plunger, if the eheim feature works its got to be a good thing.

Also is 700/ 750 LPH enough turnover for a 65L tank? I'm aware of the magic 10x volume turnover that gets mentioned a lot, but at the same time I know that these filters probably wont achieve anything close to the 700/ 750 LPH spec.

Really I'm asking for some opinions, are the older professional models better built and as such a better buy etc? Or are the new Ecco models just as good? Or is there something else in the range I've missed.