• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • Most of the remaining team are off on holiday meaning the forum does not have sufficient cover. As such the site will be placed in maintenance mode where it can be viewed but no posts/threads can be made and will remain this way until August 11th, apologies for the inconvience.

Dutchish 175

Mr P

Hello ,I am trying to put a dutch(ish) style planting together in my tank,i am no expert and will not pretend to know what i am doing,i have grown a couple of resonable tanks of plants and hope i will manage this.i pulled most of the plants out of the tank(most have been rehomed)i have a couple of plants i want to keep have have tried to use them in the setup,any help, critism (ouch) comments are welcome ,the tank is 175 litres,2x24watt T5 lights,pressurised co2,eco complete substrate.
http://flic.kr/p/bCJtCq

i done the planting over the weekend in 3stages followed by 50% water changes the fish must be happy i have i finished {for the moment),i have no doubt that pl ants may need moving or changing as the tank progresses, i have the lights on for 6hours daily as i have found this plenty for the plants to grow and hopefully not have too much of an algae problem(fingers crossed),i am feeding the plants daily with Tom C el recipe ,i have been using this for a while and find it works .http://www.flickr.com/photos/skankypup/7125340717/

here is a list of the plants in the tank,i will see as things progress what changes need to be made,
Lobelia Cardinalis Dwarf.
Clinopodium Brownei,
Limnophila aromatica
Alternanthera rosaefolia mini,
Limnophilia sessiflora,
Bacopa carolina,
Hygrowphila sp,araguaia,
micanthemum,
Cryptocorne amicorum,
Crytocorne beckettii,
Cryptocorne balansae,
Cryptocorne Mi Oya,
Crinium,(dont know what type),
lotus,(dont know what type),
Aponogenton,(large one),