• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Dosing ferts on low tech aquarium

dchollo82

Hi members,
I have a couple of question on dosing. I’m fairly new to the hobby and currently in the process of cycling my first aquarium in a number of years.
1. How long does it take roughly for an aquarium to be fully cycled with regular water changes on a low tech set up?
2. I’m currently dosing 2hr aquarist daily. Once fish are added in the coming weeks is it still necessary to dose daily or just would it be ok to dose just when carrying out a water change? Or plants look like they need it?

Thanks very much,
David

Hello @dchollo82 !

Could you kindly provide us a current photo and answers to the below please? It may seem a little overkill at this stage, but it really helps the members build up a complete picture.

1. Size of tank
2. Age of the system approximately
3. Tap water parameters
4. Filtration and Media
5. Lighting and duration
6. Substrate
7. Co2 dosing or Non-dosing
8. Drop Checker
9. Fertilizers used + Ratios
10. Water change regime and composition
12. Inhabitants

Hi Bradders, sure have answered best I can below.

25l nano

3 weeks old

Hard water ph 7-8

Internal super fish filter (supplied with superfish home 25)

Lighting - hygger 45w full spectrum.

Substrate - Pro aqua scape - nutri base

Non co2

No drop checker

Fertiliser - 2hr aquarist (currently dosing daily)

Water currently every day/other day

No inhabitants yet. Planning 3-4 guppies and red cherry shrimp

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_3723.jpeg
    IMG_3723.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 18
Nice looking aquarium!

Sorry, I forgot to ask if you know your current Amonnia, Nitrite and Nitrate levels?