• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

DOOA Neo glass terra 60cm

AlecF

This is my 4th tank, but I'm still learning. I am getting rid of a 40x40 cube, which has never felt satisying as a shape. I like low long tanks – even though this is only 60cm. This one will replace the cube. It's only 31L, but feels more, because of the form.

The DOOA has the option of adding a back wall for moss and terrarium, but I wasn't interested in that as a project and don't have the right space. Some would say that this shape of tank makes less sense if you aren't adding the extension, but I like the higher back wall.

For now I have settled on a very simple biotope set-up – biotope isn't an accurate term, but I am using it as a proxy to mean lots of leaves and branches and very few plants. I won't have a light – a relatively cheap A601 from Chihiros, via Aliexpress – for another month. I don't have a heater in yet. I'm starting slowly. The leaves are a mix of local sessile oak, a few birch, some botanicals, and a few lovely gingko.

I have a small sponge filter that is a little seeded as it's been in an existing tank for 10 days. I was thinking about a matten corner sponge, but that would be as high as the back wall. I could add a second sponge. I have a small standard rectangle 25L with only a sponge filter, for shrimps, that has done fine. With a takin style tank maybe a sponge is enough?