• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Differences between regulators

JamieB

Hi all, Co2 newbie here. Looking to get my first FE setup going.

What's the difference between the dual and single stage regulators? Specifically the following:
http://www.co2art.co.uk/store/regul...dual-stage-regulator-solenoid-magnetic-valve/
http://www.co2art.co.uk/store/regul...egulator-dual-gauged-solenoid-magnetic-valve/

I'd prefer to save money but still get a proper setup. My tank is only a 20L at the moment (the planted one) but in the future I plan to get a 300L(ish) so would like it to be future proof as well.

Any advice you could give would be great.

http://www.scottecatalog.com/scottt...a7f5c80b3c5a399e8525694a0053a98b?OpenDocument

Both the regulators are dual gauged, showing tank pressure (normally 55bar, until empty) and output pressure normally 2-5bar.

The dual stage is superior as it allows the output pressure to be adjusted and will maintain better pressure regulation especially when tank is getting empty. However both are adequate regulators for a planted tank (or else they wouldn't be selling them).

I have a single stage regulator (with dual gauges) and works fine with Up inline diffuser, though bubble rate does decrease slightly when CO2 tank is empty and pressure starts dropping significantly below 55bar. Change cylinder and bubble rate returns fine.