• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

D700 or D800 ??

A

Antipofish

Hi to all you photo buffs :) I am just a keen amateur but like most of my techno gear am always on the lookout for the next best thing :rolleyes: (trust me I wish I wasn't !!!).

I currently have a Nikon D700 but have been so impressed by the quality of DSLR video that I was contemplating changing, and the obvious choice seemed to be the Canon 5D mkII. I am not committed to a huge lens collection, having just the 70to300 IS and the f/1.4 50mm, along with SB900 flash, so it would not have been an issue to sell this as used and be able to swap it out probably for a new 5dmkII body plus used equivalent lenses.

Then someone (who will remain nameless, lol) mentioned the D800.

I have looked at it, and it would definitely cost me more to move up to it, whereas the Canon 5D mkII is more of a sideways move, financially speaking. I am not convinced it is the right camera for me though. The fps rate is slower (because of the huge 36MP sensor I guess), making it only the same as the Canon. The video of the Canon is already great, so I am not sure there would be a huge advantage of just having 36MP instead of 21MP on the Canon.

I would appreciate your thoughts. And whilst writing, invite suggestions for lenses, both Canon and Nikon for taking close up pics of my tank. I have been trying to get close ups if the fish and not getting anywhere with my 50mm as I cannot get close enough and have to crop too closely. Would I be better off using the 70to300 and zooming in ?

cheers in advance.

Hold on! Nikon D800 is brand new and the Canon 5DII a couple of years old; the rumour mill thinks that the 5DIII could well be announced at the end of the month so why not hold on and see what Canon have in store.

Greenview said: