• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Custom Biomaster

When I got my Biomaster 350 I didn’t actually need the large media capacity of the filter, I just wanted the increase in flow over the 250.
Quite some time later I’m now about to fit the original 350 head on a 250 Container and its relevant parts. I’m hoping the reduced height will make maintenance a bit easier as I don’t have a lot of headroom in the cabinet. I’ve seen online that a couple of aquarists have swapped heads/containers so I’m not the only one.

I can’t help thinking that Oase or their retailers are missing a trick here by not offering a build to order option? The 850 for example has a good output but boy the container itself is huge. Another thing I’ve noticed is that the 600 Impeller is different from the 350 but it fits, and works in the 350 head. I’m not sure though if there’s any increase in flow rate?

Quite some time later I’m now about to fit the original 350 head on a 250 Container and its relevant parts. I’m hoping the reduced height will make maintenance a bit easier as I don’t have a lot of headroom in the cabinet. I’ve seen online that a couple of aquarists have swapped heads/containers so I’m not the only one.
The mere 200L flow-through difference by putting the 350 head on the 250 head should not be a problem. You can half that to 100L, so I cannot imagine it's an issue. I remember there was some 'math' that too much flow across bio media can cause issues with bacteria attachment and growth. (I can't remember where I read that now!) But the extra 100 Litres or so I don't expect it to be an issue.
Another thing I’ve noticed is that the 600 Impeller is different from the 350 but it fits, and works in the 350 head. I’m not sure though if there’s any increase in flow rate?