• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Crash help - new to plants

Equifish

Hi I’m wondering if you can help, I’m a beginner and struggled to do things right because it’s very confusing but I did try. I upgraded my tank because I wanted live plants - I planted some carpet seeds in aquatic soil and when they established and grew a bit I added the water from my old tank then the fish. The plants never really stuck and keep floating my parameters were always okay but I maybe didn’t understand them well enough (and I probably did too many water changes / added fish too soon before I knew better) I’m only learning.

Everything went wrong and they all got ich also (didn’t have any issues in my old smaller tank for months) so that’s been medicated with esha exit.

I’m now torn on what to do because I need to change out this soil to get rid of the crappy carpet seedlings that are driving me bonkers but I can’t do it with the fish in.

Can I place them in a hospital tank without cycling it if it’s only for a day or so? My new tank will then also not be cycled because it will need a full water change and a new substrate (I’m keeping the soil but will be putting a lot of gravel over it to keep it from kicking up so much) I have 2 Amazon swords, another leafy type I’m not sure what and another plant sort of reddish leaves.

I used my old tanks filter for a while but I need a bigger one now so I will have a new filter running too.

I also have another question?

I have seachem prime at the ready but I’m confused about how often to use it - is it just when I see ammonia or nitrite start to rise or should I put it in every few days anyway until my new cycle kicks in? Just keep testing for nitrate?

I’m hoping I can at least try and salvage what fish I have left 😭 (2x mollies, 6 neon and an oto)