• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

BBA

Carpman

Is there a simple cure?
I have removed it when doing my water changes but a day or so later its back again.
The first time it started to appear was after I had turned off the Co² and the lights, this was after I had finished my fishless/plantless cycling (didn't think there was any point in wasting the co²).
The tank is newly planted (1wk) current setup is Trigon 190 with Eheim 350 pro4 inline set at 25°, Co² running approx 2bps, photo period is 5 hrs with 2x28w T5no's with reflectors. I will be increasing my flow this wk with a Koralia Nano 2200.

I've been wanting to start this fire for a while... note that I have no experience with this, I've just made some research...

Trace detox... some people say that cutting traces (aka micro nutrients) for a few days and then dosing really small amounts, do wonders on BBA... let the fireworks begin! :twisted:

No secret but time and patience. Find the right balance for growth for your other plants and bba will die as a result due to the efficiencies of your other plants using what's available and leaving nothing left. That's what worked for me...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Low O2 level's and or organic matter in possible excess is when I experience the stuff.
Keeping my filter's cleaned monthly seems to help with both issues.
Also noted that when I run KNO3 lean,that the stuff more readily appears. (not sure of correlation)

Hi Carpman, Spot dosing the Algae with Excel or carbo works too.The algae will go a light colour then die off ;)

Thanks everyone. I have upped my Co² to approx 172bpm to see how this affects it over next few days as the tank is still fishless.

Could I run my Co² 24/7 for a few days ?
Will the bba not return when I return to normal levels ?