• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Aquarium conversion

James53

Hi all. My 1st post and complete newbie so please excuse stupid questions!

I'm thinking of converting my Eareef 450s (reef tank) to a planted tank. It's a sumped tank with 80 L display 20 L sump. I'm hope to use same LED light (nanobox tide) with knocking out the blue channel. I think this should work OK (?!) it's strong enough to to grow coral after all?

I'm term's of substrate I've read about ada stuff being good. Do I just need that? I've seen videos with all sorts of "powders" being sprinkled on also?

I hoped to use liquid carbon instead of co2 but understand co2 gas is more effective. Having no experience in concerned about the complications of gas? Could I get away with liquids In my size of tank?

Thanks for your patience all!

Hi James, and welcome to UKAPS.
Most marine lights are heavily weighted toward the blue end of the spectrum, even so you'll probably have enough light intensity left, after knocking out the blue channel, to grow plants successfully. What really matters is though...will the result make the plant and fish colours pop enough to float your boat? If not there are plenty of affordable freshwater LEDs on the market to choose from.
ADA is pretty good Gucci substrate, it definitely works for me...but you don't need all the additives that are supposedly part of the ADA system. All you need is a good water column fertz dosing regime, like EI. (estimative index, a la Tom Barr).
LC, is OK but it is far more efficient (cheaper) and effective in the long run to use CO2 injection. Most of us use fire extinguishers, which are pretty cheap, along with a regulator of some description...usually dual stage or dual gauge. I use both and haven't had any problems.