• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Algae ID/ solutions.

Jaseon

So one of my father in laws tanks has some algae on his plants some shown here, and on his Java ferns. It looks more unsightly than anything. It wouldn't bother me too much, but its spoiling the look of his plants. Any ideas?, he has some Hygrophila thats not affected. Hes been dosing TNC complete.

20220305_144414.jpg 20220305_144517.jpg

I've been keeping fish for 40 plus years, but I'm no expert on the plant front (hence finding this forum). What I do know is that Java Fern grows a lot more slowly than stem plants, so is more likely to accumulate detritus and algae than faster growing plants. It could be a sign that there are too many nutrients or too higher light. No doubt others will be better placed to assist you.

So one of my father in laws tanks has some algae on his plants some shown here, and on his Java ferns. It looks more unsightly than anything. It wouldn't bother me too much, but its spoiling the look of his plants. Any ideas?, he has some Hygrophila thats not affected. Hes been dosing TNC complete.

View attachment 184032View attachment 184033

That sword looks pretty scrawny - scrawny plants always seems to be algae magnets in my experience! The Hydro looks good though... I would dial down the light and perhaps add some floating plants... and possibly nip off the badly infected leaves. The tank looks pretty clean to me so I doubt this has anything to do with organic waste build up if thats what @NatalieHurrell meant by "nutrients"... In an otherwise healthy well-maintained tank the fertilizer we dose wont cause algae - Clive (@ceg4048) taught me so long time ago and it still holds very true!

Cheers,
Michael

Last edited:
I started this thread several days ago, and gave up on it so thanks for the replies.