• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

AGA 2011 3rd Place 60-120L!! 60cm iwagumi scape

icepotato89

hello everyone, this is my first post on UKAPS. i'm not from the UK but i was compelled to join because 2 of my favorite aquascapers are regular contributors on this site and the snippets i get of their tanks from other sites are just not enough for me.

This is my first time going "high tech" with ferts and pressurized CO2 so a i had to do heaps of research but the hardscape was defiantly the most time consuming part of the setup. it took me a few weeks to get it how i wanted but it was much more fun than i expected i almost didn't want to plant it. this is also the first time i'll be using plastic dividers to keep the lilaeopsis from getting into the foreground, i've had trouble controlling plants in the past.

equipment:
60x30x36cm rimless starphire tank
eheim 2213 with glass lily pipes & clear tubing
hanging dual 24w t5ho
200w Hydor ETH inline heater
2.6kg pressurized co2 with glass nano diffuser

hardscape:
20kg fine gravel
10kg seiryu stone

plants:
Hemianthus callitrichoides
Lilaeopsis brasiliensis
Hydrocotyle sp. tripartita??
Blyxa japonica

inhabitants:
ember tetras - Hyphessobrycon amandae
red cherry shrimp - Neocaridina heteropoda var. red

tank in place
DSCN2655.jpg

seiryu stone
IMG_0983.jpg

figuring out rock placement and substrate in an old tank so i don't scratch the new one
IMG_1003.jpg

visualizing plant selection with paint
plantlayout1.jpg

rocks and substrate in
DSCN2671.jpg

plastic divider
DSCN2673.jpg

DSCN2672.jpg

planted and filled
DSCN2677.jpg

the next day after settling and purigen
DSCN2680.jpg

DSCN2686.jpg

DSCN2681.jpg

DSCN2685.jpg

DSCN2678.jpg

fish and shrimp introduced
DSCN2699.jpg

DSCN2697.jpg

DSCN2710.jpg

DSCN2704.jpg

DSCN2702.jpg

Re: 60cm iwagumi scape