• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Advice on personal RO Unit

Iksentrik

I'm looking to buy an RO unit for my planted discus tank and was wondering if I can get some advice as to what people here recommend.

Tank is a Trigon 350 with a Rena external filter
I live in UK, not that I'm adverse to shipping items from overseas

Good move, Ive been using RO water for over 20 years and these days its really affordable. I only drink RO my kettle is spotless and I never clean it. makes the best cuppa tea going ;) I usually use http://www.purewaterproducts.co.uk but of late his websites been down and I cant reach him on the phone but he does a perfectly good unit 100 gpd for just over 100 quid. He also has a household one with built in microprocessor telling you the tds of the water and auto flushing the membrane for about £150. His name is Alan and his prices are really good.

RO-MAN is a little bit more expensive but equally good products...

http://www.ro-man.com/shop/ I used to buy there until I found purewater products but may have to go back to RO-MAN if I cant get in touch with Alan as his website has been down ages! RO-MAN have units for household and fishkeeping in mind so check them out ;)

First thing you will need to check is your water pressure. If its too low you will need a pump as well as the membrane needs the water forced upon it to work. Ideally at least 45 psi but 60 psi is better. The more pressure the better the quality of water produced. Anything under 10 ppm is classified as medically pure water. I get around 1 ppm :)

Here is a basic set up for around £100

http://www.ro-man.com/shop/index.php?route=product/product&path=887_892&product_id=318