• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Help! How to re-scape an established tank with 40+ fishes.

The.WishMaster

Hello Experts,

I have been running a planted tank since over a year now. I started this hobby a year ago. My tank is really established and community fishes are thriving. My tank is 100cm x 40cm x 50cm (180Liters). It is heavily planted and has a really thick layer of various substrates (gravel+crushed lava rock+ aqua soil + white sand). Since i was a beginner, I did a big mistake which was to not put aqua soil in mesh bags and therefore no matter how hard I clean / try the aqua soil comes to the top and makes the tank look really untidy. Also the white sand that I chose turned out to be not fully natural (someone at a fish shop gave me bad advise) and I would like to get rid of it and replace it with natural sand or just gravel.

I would like to rescape the whole tank without killing most of the beneficial bacteria. Ideally I would want to siphon off the sand + aqua soil and replace it with aqua soil in mesh bags covered with natural sand/gravel and then do the hard scaping with plants etc.
I also dont have a secondary tank to house the fishes while I do this.

So my question is, how can I quickly re-scape the tank without killing the bacteria (In filters and hardscape) and keeping the fishes alive?

I do have a big bucket and a big styrofoam container as well which doesn't leak.

Fishes I have are:
  • Pair of diamond gouramis
  • honey gouramis
  • golden blue rams
  • a lot of neon and cardinal tetras
  • guppies
  • zebra danios
  • 2x plecos
  • Some Amano shrimps

My brain is struggling to think on how can I achieve it within a day. All ideas and experience sharing is welcome.