• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water supply report

Marios

Hi all,

Below are the results of the quality control of drinking water regarding the "Chemical Control" (whatever that means) for my local tap water supply that I was able to retrieve from the Government Laboratory of Cyprus. These results concern the 2nd semester of 2020.

pH
7.9​
Conductivity (25°C)
819​
μS/cm
NH4+
0​
Sb
0​
As
0​
B
0​
SO4=
73​
mg/l
Cd
0​
Mn
0​
Pb
0​
Na+
37​
mg/l
Ni
1.2​
μg/l
NO3-
3​
mg/l
NO2-
0​
Total organic carbon (TOC)
0.9​
mg/l
Se
2.1​
μg/l
Hg
0​
F-
0​
Cu
0​
Cl-
47​
mg/l
Cr
2.2​
μg/l

Anyone care to explain what my results say? I am trying to understand if any of the above values play any important role to my tank's water chemistry and dosing regime, which is attached and is based on Clive's E.I. target.

P.S.
1) I am new to this hobby and I am trying to get a better understanding on whatever I can.
2) I have been using the IFC Aquarium Fertilizer Calculator and would like to express my thanks to @Zeus. , @Hanuman and anyone else that contributed to the creation of this amazing calculator.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    77 KB · Views: 156
Hi all
pH
7.9​
Conductivity (25°C)
819​
μS/cm
Cl-
47​
mg/l

Na+
37​
mg/l
It looks pretty good quality, no heavy metals and low nitrate (NO3-) values.

It doesn't give you hardness (dGH or dKH), calcium (Ca++) or (bi)carbonate (HCO3-) values, but the pH and conductivity levels suggest that it is hard water. <"Your location"> would also suggest that dGH is likely to include some magnesium (Mg++) a long with the calcium.

Because sodium (Na+) and chloride (Cl-) are relatively low, you don't have any saline water input.

cheers Darrel

Last edited:
and conductivity levels suggest that it is hard water.