• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Do your Fluval canister filters leak every time you open them?

Sarpijk

Hi, I was wondering if I am the only one having this problem. I have been using Fluval filters for many years, never used any other brand of external filter.

The last one I bought is a Fluval 206 and has been the worst. The rubber gasket has to be renewed every time you open it. I gave up at some point and went to a gasket shop and they suggested I buy one size thicker. This did the trick but still if I close it and it doesn't sit well it leaks from the sides.

I was actually thinking of getting myself a big Aquaclear HOB and get rid of the canister.

I like Fluvals because when you get them running they are silent and provide good flow. Previously I had a Fluval 204 and I still own a Fluval 105 both working without any problems for many years which makes me think the 06 series are problematic in design.

Sorry for the rant , just spent 2 hours servicing the filter. I decided to get rid of the old siporax and keep just the sponges. So far the water is crystal clear which is impressive.

You may be right!

Three years ago I had the Fluval 204 leak because of a crack and it drained my tank. This is when I started using the 206 manly because it seemed a big waste not to use a relatively new filter.

I was actually ready to get an Oase 805? which was on sale on Black Friday but then I read that these could also be problematic for some and decided against it.

Lately I was influenced by some threads on filtration and this is why I decided to get rid of all the old biological material.
On my 30 litre cube I really enjoy the simplicity of an Aquaclear HOB and I also feel they are safer than a canister.