• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

The Eternal Substrate Questions

AlecF

I'm a newbie planning a 60 litre cube which I'd describe as a native version of a blackwater, with a vague nod to Amazon biotope, but taking into account all the usual comments about the amazon having few plants in the main rivers, etc. I am using beech leaves and lots of twigs as the main source of tannin, and a medium planting consisting of new grasses, Helanthium tennellum and Potamageton Gayi, and lots of Amazon frogbit which is mature. I will add some of the wood from an existing established tank, along with 2 small stones, and an established sponge filter. I have an Eheim pick up as well which will have been running in my established tank for 2 weeks. The lights will be Chihiros A Seria 401 for a 40cm tank. This will mainly have pencil fish and Cory, when it's ready. I understand my planting will be light compared to some. My first tank is well stocked and I wanted to make something more minimal. My main questions are the familiar substate issues. I know there are various opinions. I'm just keen not to make a huge error. My existing tank has done well, but it's planting is more expansive. I want this tank to be more minimal and wood based. My plan/questions
1. A scattering of posh wajababy/Kuidamos pumice thick grey gravel, which they wonderfully call 'Player Baby Filtration material', with some Chinese white zeolite balls supplied for a cheap Finnex filter that broke within 3 days of arrival (take note). These are to ensure aeration. The pumice seems approved by people generally.
Question: I assume zeolite is safe as a bottom material