• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Water parameters during cycling

Oli14

Hi all, I’m new to planted aquariums and currently 10 days into cycling my tank.

125 litre tank
Tropica aquarium soil

Yesterday I put 2ppm ammonia in the tank. 24 hours later my parameters were as below..

A - 0
N - 0.25
PH - 7.2

I’m not currently measuring Nitrates as there is about 40ppm out of my tap anyway. But it looks like my cycle is on the way?

My question is, tonight I have put ammonia in to take it up to 3ppm, I tested the ammonia after dosing, I also tested the PH and it had gone up to 8.2!?

Why has the ph gone up like this?

Water chemistry is not something I am hugely experienced with.

Thanks,

Oli

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome! :)

I would suggest having a look at this thread;
Cycling.
and the other ones it links to.
That should give you a better idea about 'cycling' your tank in the light of modern knowledge.
I think we need more details about your tank to see why the pH is rising. First I would stop adding ammonia, then check the pH for a couple of days to see if it still rises, If so, rocks and other decor could be the cause.
Although this thread;
Tank info guidelines
is about algae, it does list the kind of details that could help to diagnose any problems. And details of your rocks etc could be relevant in this case.
hth

Welcome! :)

I would suggest having a look at this thread;
Cycling.
and the other ones it links to.
That should give you a better idea about 'cycling' your tank in the light of modern knowledge.
I think we need more details about your tank to see why the pH is rising. First I would stop adding ammonia, then check the pH for a couple of days to see if it still rises, If so, rocks and other decor could be the cause.
Although this thread;
Tank info guidelines