• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Lighting duration

Kingyfish1

How long do most people run there lights for without having problems with alge, I have 27 Watts led light over an (LxWxH): 77.5 x 36 x 53cm (Volume 118 Litres) tank. I was thinking 8-9 hours but don't know for sure.

Hi @Kingyfish1. I'm by no means an expert, but I'd say 8 hours is about typical.

If you have the option to adjust the lighting intensity it may help to start slightly weak and increase the intensity over time. If you see a bloom, reduce it back.

Other factors to take into consideration when it comes to algae are the amount of nutrients in the water column. If there is an absolute abundance, again, algae may thrive. Plants can limit this by soaking up said nutrients, and floating plants may be a good way to also suck these up along with affecting light penetration so could be a way of adjusting intensity if your light is not dimmable. Regular water changes also help dilute these nutrients.

Best way though is to set it all up and let it run, then combat the situational issues you face and learn from them.

This place is also a great resource for input and feedback based on what you experience with your aquarium. Perhaps not the most prompt but a good resource nonetheless.

Last edited: