• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Planting after filling tank?

Daalamist

Seedling
I know that generally you plant your plants into the substrate then fill the tank, but because I’m on a super tight budget and this is my first attempt, I was wondering if it’s possible to buy a small amount of the plants I want, plant them, fill the tank, and then buy more plants as I go along, adding them to the substrate with the tank already filled. Is that doable? I will have loads of stupid questions because I’m new at this. Thanks

That's what I've done with my previous aquarium and all went very well.

I know that generally you plant your plants into the substrate then fill the tank, but because I’m on a super tight budget and this is my first attempt, I was wondering if it’s possible to buy a small amount of the plants I want, plant them, fill the tank, and then buy more plants as I go along, adding them to the substrate with the tank already filled. Is that doable? I will have loads of stupid questions because I’m new at this. Thanks
People do that all the time and it's absolutely fine to do. Have a read up on some of the sticky threads about planting etc, these should help you grasp the basics but you will never stop learning. :bookworm:

Yes, you have to remember that most of the fancy videos come from a small minority of skilled (and well budgeted) aquascapers. Most of the general public buy plants on and off - rearrange things, add things, replace something that's not growing well etc. they also often don't buy more than one pot of each type and wait patiently for it to grow in.

You could also looks at plant swaps - good for money saving. If it's carpet plants you can grow them on in soil on your window sill to increase the volume too.