• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Low tech first past advice welcome

Steve Hatcher

Seedling
Hi All,

Noob here looking to set up a low tech planted tank. I would like it to house some danios and guppys, and some workers to keep it clean (algae eaters). This is what I have come up with:

Tank: ADA Cube Garden 60-H
Light: ADA Aquasky 601
Filter: AquaClear 70
Heater: Aquael Unbreakable Easy Heater 75w
Substrate: ADA-Aqua Soil Powder Amazonia

Carpet Plant: Lileopsis brisbanica
Plant: Anubias barteri, bacopa caroliniana, brazilian pennywort, Cryptocoryne wendtii
... or whatever I can find local

I want a piece of driftwood in the middle and some rocks.

I have a few questions:
1. Is the tank and gear combination looking okay?
2. I am very confused as to substrate. Do I just use the amazonia? Or do I put rocks below it? And do I need to put anything on top of it to add nutrients? Do I put sand on top of the amazonia?
3. Once its up and running with fish, what kind of maintenance is required?

Thank you for your time.

Looks good.

Couple of points, mainly about the light choice.

- Make sure you have a way of dimming the lights and most LED's can be too bright, especially at startup and you end up turning your plants to algae food.
- Shame the 601 is 110V power. Seems a shame to have to spend yet even more money on a bulky unsightly 230V to 110V transformer.
- Ensure your carpeting plant is suitable for low tech, as quite a few (most ?) carpeting plants are medium to high tech and require CO2 supplement in some form or other.
- We need pictures. :)
- Any substrate will do, even sand, if you are dosing ferts into the water. Amazonia is fine, but expensive, is nutrient loaded but will leach loads of ammonia for first couple of weeks, do no fish until tank is cycled. Is a very nice substrate to plant into.