• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

IAPLC 2016 rankings

rebel

Hi everyone,

I've been thinking about how they do the rankings in IAPLC. With Amano gone, would it be the same? How will the competition evolve in the future? Who will take Amano's place as the creative director of the franchise?

Have you studied what it takes to be ranked highly? Can you reverse engineer some of the scapes?

IMHO nanos and Dutch won't be ranked highly. I am no expert on the subject however.

Please discuss. :)

Good questions.

I hope we see a move away from the Diorama style. I suppose its a personal taste thing, but they've begun to look so contrived; like bad special effects in a movie. I'd also like to see a greater emphasis on the use of plants and varieties, much of the contest has leaned heavily on hardscape and few plant species. Maybe this is an issue with scoring or with the styles that do well. To that point, you are right, dutch scapes do not score well. To some extent I understand why, they do not show off much of a natural environment with their heavily manicured look. They also lack a sense of depth and scale you can achieve with other style layouts. Nanos suffer as well, but for different reasons. While you can achieve great sense of depth or scale, you are greatly limited on plant selection in order to achieve it so there are losses to the overall look in that regard. I think the ideal scape is a 120 cm. Much bigger and you get a big look because its a big tank...more easily achieved. Smaller and you lose some options or flexibility to achieve various effects or looks which hurt the scoring.