• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Liberty HOB / Aquaball or another??

Pinkmummy79

So I've had an Aqua One Aquaspace 40 tank sitting around collecting dust for about a year, was originally bought as a quarantine tank, so it's about time I cracked on and filled it with water. This will be a low tech dirted tank with plans for some red cherry shrimp, and maybe half a dozen Galaxy Rasboras.

The original filter is poor so as this will be sitting on a nice decorative table in the hallway I am steering away from a cannister filter just purely for aesthetic reasons.

After much homework on here my two initial filter choices would be either
Eheim Liberty HOB filter - unsure which size to go for here, 75, 130 or largest is 200, I know they're adjustable flow but which one would be best suited? the 130? I have no experience HOBS sorry..
The flow rates are supposed to be:
75 = 75 to 380l/ph
130 = 130 to 570 l/ph
200 = 200 to 760 l/ph
or
an Aquaball probably the 60?

Only downside to these i see is they're in the tank, not really a problem for me but if the HOB will work for my purposes then I quite fance one.
any persuasion either way would be helpful, cheers, also open to other ideas
Clive

Hi all,
The Eheim Liberty HOBs are OK. I've got one, I threw away all the cartridges etc. and put a sponge on the intake, and glass rings in the body. Downside is that they are a bit noisy <"Which filter for a 60l......">. I would think for your set-up any-one would do size wise.

I also like the Eheim Aquaballs, I use these as my "belt and braces" extra filter in tanks with an external filter. I like them because they keep going even if you let them get quite clogged.

I run mine with the venturi fitting. I think you have to pay extra for this, but I got all of mine 2nd hand.